My Personal Relationship…

Dealing with life sometimes can have anyone on an emotional roller coaster ride that is tiring and draining. Unfortunately the ride called life can’t just be stopped just because one may be weary. So what can be done to keep sanity while riding the high and lows of life?

This month has been a crazy emotional roller coaster ride for me. I talked things out, I wrote things out and sometimes I played things over and over in my head. But it was only after God lead me to pray did I get released from the heaviness in my heart. I was at peace, not because I had 100% insurance that everything will work out the way I want; but because I have given my issues to someone who cares. No matter how things will turn out, I know that God got involved because His love for me. After praying, I was lighter, singing, smiling, getting rest and even joking; soon after a very noticeable message kept recurring in the small places.

I had no intentions on watching Whitney Houston’s funeral service, at least not the whole thing. I was at my sister’s house that Saturday when I realized that my sister was preparing to watch it. It was apparent she knew the date and time of when it would be broadcast. She had the television tuned in to CNN for the live coverage. As we watched the service, I could just imagine how those who sat in the pews of New Hope Baptist Church in Newark, N.J. felt. I was touched by the praises that went up in song and in word. The Eulogy done by Pastor Marvin Winans, was a message that people should allow God to be apart of every part of their lives, not just the end of it.

Sunday, I opened JET magazine, (Jan 23, 2012 issue) to the book review page and notice that one of the editor’s choice was, “The Holy Bible.” The Holy Bible was described as “best self-help book,” that was ever read, with “practical tips for living”. The same secular magazine had an article called “Amen Corner” by Iman Jefferson, giving 5 steps to become more spiritually connected for 2012.

Message noted life is good, but better when having God apart of it.

Then I realized something, it took me too long to bring my issues to God in prayer. As I questioned why, I evaluated myself and realized that my communication with God is lacking. I know it’s because I feel like I am not the same young lady I was years ago; the one who did not miss a church service, or who tried to not do and say bad things. Some how, with twist and turns in life the good girl is not so good and because of that has found it hard to communicate to God.

I know God is not looking for perfection, but he is looking for a relationship. I hear Him in his unique way of telling me that. My prayer today, is not to be perfect and not to feel guilty about not being perfect. But to remember God’s grace and love and live in it while building a relationship with Him.

So what can be done to keep sanity while riding the high and lows of life? One can keep communicating with God. Some people may feel they don’t need to. That may be because they never felt the experience of going through something with God being their guide. My faith in God has brought me this far in life and has allowed me to be the person that I am. Perfect or not, my communication with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ is the only thing that will keep me. God knows I need to be kept.

2 Comments on My Personal Relationship…

  1. Ms.Sugarbaby // March 1, 2012 at 5:10 pm // Reply

    Great writing. well I have have pondered the same thing and even sorted advise. what was told to me that helped a whole lot was I am not in the same place I was when I was a young girl. God has moved me into a different level of life so looking for him to be in the old level does not work anymore. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me.. My understanding of GOD has changed sometimes more confusing but always trusting.

  2. What an insightful article. I really enjoyed it and it was really food for thought. Thank u.

Comments

