Why get Married? – The Vows

Life forced me take a personal journey to answer the question, Why Get Married? It’s easy to go with the flow of the norm. I can get married because it’s “the right thing to do,” it’s what’s expected, or better yet, because I have a good candidate.  However, coming to my own truth about marriage is more fitting for a girl like me, who want to stay true to herself.

I had a conversation with a girlfriend about marriage vows and what they mean. She said, “ther’e a lot of people that may have your back. You know, would wipe your butt if they had to. But at the end of the day, you would have to even forsake them for your spouse.” I thought of, Genesis 2:24.

For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.

I also thought, am I ready to make that commitment with IK. Is he ready to make that commitment? After looking into different marriage vows, I realized that we’re already making these commitments. My vows started long before I can even think about standing in a room in my best attire, in front of the most important people of my life. My vows started after I realized that I was not just dating, but I was committed to loving him even when it’s not easy, convenient or fun. 

There’s no paper that will make me more or less committed then I am right now. So, my journey continues. Why Get Married?

Comments

