Shopping is becoming the Tradition

As you all may know I worked on Thanksgiving Day, not by choice. I prefer spending the holidays with family. But with the job I have, comes the understanding that someone has to be there. So, I adjusted my time with my family and we celebrated the day after.

After making the best of my thanksgiving, I heard that emergency facilities were not the only ones open for business. For the first time in history, retail stores were opened on Thanksgiving Day at 8:00 PM.

Is spending money verse spending time with family and friends becoming the new tradition for the holidays; or does it really matter?

Let’s talk about it.

– Lady I @ A.K.A MISSI

8 Comments on Shopping is becoming the Tradition

  1. You can definitely see how things are changing in terms of what matters to the majority of people ie. shopping. Hence the whole 8pm opening even on Thanksgiving Day. Just like Ken, I’m also Asian and don’t celebrate it although we have our little traditions of getting together with families and loved ones. As much as I used to love shopping before, nowadays I barely shop outside unless it has something to do with food. I could never cope with the chaotic scene in a shopping mall full of people pushing you around, not when the baby is with me. So dangerous and people get so aggressive when sales are on! Thanks goodness for online shopping.

    P.S. I’m glad you’re able to find more wonderful bloggers through the GIG Iris. Thanks for sporting our badge on your blog. Really appreciate it. Feel free to always post on our group’s wall and ask any questions that we can all get involved, that’s what the group is here for. Have a great week ahead xx D

    • Girl, I hate shopping too! But then again, I never liked it. The crowds, lines and scattered product. I don’t have time for it. Oh yes, I am glad you invited me to join GIG, it is great set of independent ladies doing great things ; )

  2. useyourcleanser // November 27, 2012 at 4:10 am // Reply

    I’m Asian so we don’t celebrate Thanks Giving. It’s funny that we call it Turkey day lol cause a bunch of Asian unknown cousin come all into one place and start attack that Turkey on the dinning table lol

    I am absolutely love shopping, I addicted to shopping on holiday since there is a lots of sale. But I am more of a online shopping person. Yet spending more time with friends and family is much more important.

    • That is interesting fact; the holidays mean different things to different people. That can explain why some feel that if an opportunity to make money or save money comes along then one should go for it. I guess everyone have to value their traditions as much as they can, even if they are forced to work during the holidays.

      • useyourcleanser // November 27, 2012 at 5:37 am //

        Well It is true due to the fact most of us Asian don’t celebrate Western holiday so we usually work during holiday for our Western co-worker.

        For me I’m just glad that I have a day off lol

      • I am glad you do too ; ) I can’t wait till the day I do have it off. I remember the day when I was young. It was a big deal to have the family over and share quality time. I don’t want to loose that.

  3. Hoskindeloris // November 27, 2012 at 3:44 am // Reply

    Spending time with the family is more important to me. However, I really donot like shopping.

Comments

