The Marriage Tour

thetour

January 12, 2013 premiered “The Marriage Tour.”  It starts when Denise finally gets her boyfriend Brian to talk about marriage. After four years she feels it’s time to take their relationship to the next phase. The problem is Brian dpesn’t see anything wrong with the phase they’re in.

After exchanging their personal thoughts, and realizing that they’re not on the same page about getting married, Denise comes up with the idea to interact with other couples. They agrreed to hang with Carmen and Andre, newlyweds, Laura and Kyle, who have been married for seven years, and their divorce and single friend Eddie.

The marriage tour is supposed to make Brian see the importance of marriage. However, if after the tour he is not convinced, Denise promises never to ask him about marriage again. Brian agrees to do the tour, with his own plans to convince Denise that they don’t need to get married, because what they have is perfect the way it is.

Already, I found myself laughing at the similarities of my own journey and “The Marriage Tour.” I am always talking to married couples, singles and people who are in a relationship but don’t want marriage. However, instead of going on the tour to convince my boyfriend we should get married, I did the tour by myself, for myself, to see if I want to get married and why.

I questioned the unmarried. Surprisingly, I understand why some people could be convinced that marriage is just one way to do business. That it is okay to conduct business affairs in a different way, leaving the risk of marriage to those who want to live an outdated fairy tale. Then I spoke with the married. With answers like, “It was just time” and “I wanted to do the right thing”, it felt like those who dare to get married was because of some personal experience that can not be explained. Then others admitted that marriage gives security with finances and / or companionship.  This left me with doubts about marriage.

Taking my own personal journey has not been as entertaining as watching the marriage tour. There were moments when I questioned why I can’t simply get married, because it is the next phase in my life. However; I feel marriage is too much of a commitment to take as just the next phase in life. There has to be more to it then pretty dresses, rings and papers. Deep down, it has to be more to it then, doing it because that is what others want for you. It has to be a personal choice that comes from your personal journey. I am not married, but something tells me that when the choice is personal and real, it can help during what I hear can be hard times.

Eventually, I came to a conclusion about marriage. In my soul-searching experience, I realized with every romantic relationship came titles and different levels of respect that men earned. There was, “just the friend”, although he was my friend he did not want to entertain my family or friends. Then it was the “boyfriend”, who elevated his game. He wanted to be around me and my family; but some how I never saw his family and friends. Then there is “the man” in my life that does not play games. I feel a different way about him. I know that he deserves a better title then the others. I find myself honoring him, with my actions, as though he is my husband. However, I realized that the world we live in that is just not enough. That is why I want to honor him with the title that comes with the respect, he has earned.

I wonder what conclusion Brian and Denise will come to, at the end of their marriage tour. Hmm, there are so many ways this story can end. He can end up wanting to get married, while Denise finds herself discouraged from the idea. Whatever happens, one thing is for sure, this web series The Marriage Tour will have people talking about their true thoughts on marriage. The next webisode is today, January 19, 2013 at http://www.themarriagetour.com

Will you watch?

 

 

 

8 Comments on The Marriage Tour

  1. Thanks for sharing AKA MISSI!

    I’m going…NOW! ;D

    … & Sharing as well!
    *

  2. Wow! This web series sounds interesting and entertaining! I’ll have to catch up with the episodes soon. It’s cool that you are doing your own tour. Self discovery and knowing what you want are most important before walking down the aisle. Then, you can come together and choose the path that both spouses truly want. Great post!

    • Hey Sherelle, the web series is entertaining.Yesterday I watched episode 2 and wished they where a little longer. I think I am having so much fun with it because of my personal tour. Which is worth the effort but also scary at times. Thanks for the comments and the re-tweet!

  3. I hadn’t heard about this webisode. Thanks for the review. I am watching now. Give me a moment to look at the last two episodes.

  4. Blessed60859212 // January 19, 2013 at 1:51 pm // Reply

    Ms. I:
    I couldn’t agree more.  I found your post to be insightful, and on point.    
    From a personal perspective, I would add that as  I’ve lived my blessed life of  Love and Marriage, I’ve learned the formula is simple. Regardless of the cover you blanket your relationship in . . . call it family, friend, friends with benefits, lovers, “significant others”, soulmates, or spouse; the cornerstone of all positive relationships is integrity.

    INTEGRITY what a beautiful word. If you look it up online, you will find the following definitions:

    in·teg·ri·ty  [in-teg-ri-tee]  noun

    1.              
    adherence to moral and ethical principles; soundness of moral character; honesty.

    2.
    the state of being whole, entire, or undiminished: to preserve the integrity of the empire.

    3.
    a sound, unimpaired, or perfect condition: the integrity of a ship’s hull.

    Synonyms 1. rectitude, probity, virtue. See HONOR
    Antonyms 1. dishonesty.

    OR

    Integrity:   a concept of consistency of actions, values, methods, measures, principles, expectations, and outcomes. 

    In ethics, integrity is regarded as the honesty and truthfulness or accuracy of one’s actions. 

    Integrity can be regarded as the opposite of hypocrisy, in that integrity regards internal consistency as a virtue, and suggests that parties holding apparently conflicting values should account for the discrepancy or alter their beliefs.

    The word “integrity” stems from the Latin adjective integer (whole, complete).
    In this context, integrity is the inner sense of “wholeness” deriving from qualities such as honesty and consistency of character. As such, one may judge that others “have integrity” to the extent that they act according to the values, beliefs and principles they claim to hold.

    Now doesn’t that cover all our individual needs, fears  and  idiocrasies.
    The truth is what the old folks didn’t tell us was “Love is not enough!”
    Love or  lack of love usually motivates the search.  While a desire for passion or procreation fuels the drive.  I promise you if you have and find someone with integrity, you’ve got the umbrella that shelters us all from the tears of one night stands, broken promises and hearts.

    By the way, I can’t take credit for this “novel?” idea.  
    I learned it from my best friend, lover, soulmate, and spouse of 33 years aka Mr. Griffith.

Comments

