My Response to…I.N.D.E.P.E.N.D.E.N.T: Do We Know What That Means?

 

20130703-014252.jpg

Clutch magazine published and article titled, “I.N.D.E.P.E.N.D.E.N.T: Do We Know What That Means?” by . “What do we mean when we call ourselves independent women?” is the opening line, follow by Webster dictionary definition. She also reference a video by “SPARKWISDOM” called “The Deception of the Independent Woman,” where a woman expresses her thoughts on deception of “MS independent,” is that one must be alone. At the end of the video Sparkwisdom encourage women to “go get your man,” if you want one, and don’t allow your theory of what an independent woman should have, stop you for sharing your life with someone special. At the end of the clutch article Muhammad gives her take the term Ms. Independent and why we should pay attention to what it really means, while singing our latest independent anthem song.

My Response…

“I don’t need anyone, I can do it myself,” sound good for movies, books and lyrics; but I believe most women have their own definition of what Miss independent means and it is far from male bashing and having the most material possessions. Recently, I began a feature on my blog called “Miss Independent of the week!” The feature gives women an opportunity to defined what miss independent means to them in 50 words or less. I quickly learned that women see independence as a developed character and drive for life. So far none of them have said anything about not needing or wanting a man. I am sure, most of us song along with songs by Ne-Yo and Destiny’s Child, but at the end of the day, an independent woman (all grown-up) knows that the definition goes deeper than what society sells us.

What do you think?

4 Comments on My Response to…I.N.D.E.P.E.N.D.E.N.T: Do We Know What That Means?

  1. I think her article was very thought provoking and she had a lot of validity in her words. Have we let the term independent claim us for fear of being categorized as a lazy, broke, mediocre individual? I myself have struggled with the notion of being so independent that I scare off potential good mates because I somehow challenge their masculinity. Like she mentioned, aren’t adults supposed to be responsible? Aren’t we supposed to be living alone, and have our own means of transportation, and able to provide for ourselves without the assistance of family or friends? What happens when we do get into that relationship, are we no longer independent because we all of a sudden have somebody to split things down the middle? It’s confusing. Independent to me is someone who is fearless, someone who can take life by the horns and find a way to make it in this economy without jumping from the nearest bridge. (kidding lol)

    • Hey hershykiss, thanks for stopping by. I do think the author makes good point that adults do not need kudos for taking care of themselves.To answer your question, “What happens when we do get into that relationship, are we no longer independent?” Yes you are! Just because your situation is eaiser, does not take away from your character that makes you do the “adult thing.” Especially when the bills are split, you still are providing. Let’s say you don’t have to pay for anything in your new relationship, does that mean your not indpenentent? Hmmm, I say the ms. indepenent in that situation will still be an adult and save money for a bad day. My theory of an indpenent woman means she is a respobsible adult when she has to and even when she does not have to.

  2. Mr. kirkland // July 3, 2013 at 5:54 am // Reply

    umm hmmm

Comments

