My Response to… 8 Pieces Of Dating Wisdom I Wish I Could Have Given My Single Self

ahacolor-190x300

Although I am in a loving, committed, relationship going on four years, I can remember the single life all too well. So when I saw the title “8 Pieces of Dating Wisdom I Wish I Could Have Given My Single Self,” published in Clutch, I knew it was a must read.

I could not have said it better than Ami Angelowicz, who also wrote “An Open Letter to My Single Self.” She made me remember the daunting days of single life. Although it was not all bad, lets just say I don’t miss it. It was no fun having guy friends who never wanted a committed relationship, but wanted all the benefits of one. My single days were fill with watching friends with their boyfriends, fallen in love, and always having sweets on valentine’s day. The few relationships I did have always made me wonder, if I could have done something different to make them work? The answer was, absolutely nothing! As Angelowicz points out ”…Love is a mystery that you can’t harness or control or elicit or will. Accept that it’s a mystery and sit down, shut up, enjoy your freaking life, and patiently wait your turn.”

She says when she decided to do that, literally she ran into her love in a train station. I have heard people say it so many times; once you are not looking for love it finds you. However, I never really understood or appreciate what they meant until it happened to me.

When I became frustrated with dating Mr. Wrong I had some alone time. Then one day I decided to give the situation to God in a simple prayer, requesting a man who would love me like God loves me, unconditionally. I said the prayer once and vowed not to repeat it. At this point I was ready to embrace life as a single gal and let love find me happy and enjoying myself. Within weeks of embracing single life, I had realized that I started to like my co-worker, which now explains the unexpected conversations we had after work. After a serious conversation about what we both wanted in our future, I realized he liked me too; and the rest is history.

Do you have any great tips to your single-self?

 

2 Comments on My Response to… 8 Pieces Of Dating Wisdom I Wish I Could Have Given My Single Self

  1. This reminds me of “The Secret” Ask for it believe it and receive it 🙂

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Baggage Claim |

Comments

