FOOD CRAVE: Sweet & Salty Chicken

This dish I call Sweet & Salty Chicken was created accidentally, however it has become one of my family dishes that fulfills our “food crave.” I was trying to make stew chicken. I browned the chicken with oil and brown sugar, but I put too much sugar and the chicken came out very sweet. I try to correct the problem by adding more salt. When I was done, I had my own version of stew chicken that was not stew chicken at all, my husband calls it Chinese chicken, I call it sweet & salty. Whatever you want to call it, I hope you call it delicious once you try it.

IMG_2498IMG_2496IMG_2500IMG_2501

Ingredients

  • 8 boneless Chicken Thighs ( you can have less, but for this dish I like to have left overs)
  • 2 teaspoons of curry powder
  • 2 Teaspoons of salt
  • 2 Teaspoons of ginger powder
  • 1 Teaspoon of red pepper( only if you like a little spice)
  • 1 Large onion
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 cups of water
  • 16 ounces of frozen green beans
  • Virgin Olive Oil
  • Brown Sugar

Directions

  1. Clean the chicken thighs and season with salt, black pepper, curry powder, ginger powder, with a dash of red pepper. Let it sit for two hours or more in the refrigerator to soak in all of the spices.
  2. Cut up onion, green pepper and garlic clove.
  3. Heat up non-stick pan.
  4. Pour virgin olive oil until the pan is totally covered.
  5. Add brown sugar to the pan covering the pan with the sugar.
  6. Pan brown the chicken on both sides. Then take chicken out and cut into smaller pieces.
  7. Add cut up onions, green peppers, and garlic clove to the pan.
  8. Then add the cut up chicken back into the pan.
  9. Stir well.
  10. Add string beans.
  11. Stir well.
  12. Add two cups of water.
  13. Add a little more sugar and salt (add to your desire taste of sweet and salty)
  14. Stir well.
  15. Lower the flame and let the chicken cook.

 

 

 

2 Comments on FOOD CRAVE: Sweet & Salty Chicken

  1. Sounds delicious! 🙂 ❤ ❤ Pinned it to try sometime @ http://www.pinterest.com/pin/12596073933429969/

Comments

