Michelle Williams Keeping it Real on “The Real” Her Words of Inspiration

IMG_2538
The very excited and confident Michelle Williams, former Destiny Child R&B artist was on “The Real.” She talked about life before Destiny Child when she sung back-up for R&B singer Monica. Her fourth gospel album, “Journey to Freedom,” and what it means. She describes herself as Iyanla Vanzant for choirs on her new show “Fix My Choir” that airs on Oxygen.

Although extremely successful in pursuing her own dreams, Williams has been compared to other ladies of the Destiny Child group. Tamera Mowry-Housley asked Williams, “how do you handle being compared to Beyonce and Kelly?” Michelle said, “I’m still so excited to have that association with two of the most fiercest ladies that are in my life. So I don’t mind the comparison, but my name is Tenitra Michelle Williams. We have different DNA and different blood so it would be whack if we were all the same. No one here on this panel is the same.”

Being different, is nothing new to Williams who grew up with a diverse background allowing her to feel free to use her gifts and talents anywhere with anyone even when criticized.  “You went from R&B music to Gospel music, how do you handle people that may criticize you for flip-flopping?”said Loni Love. Williams said,“well I grew up in church… but I was also in the creative performing arts in school, so we danced, we sang, we did theater. So into my adult-hood I decided that I want to do the same thing. I don’t want to be just pigeonholed into one thing. I think that people only categorize you or put you into a box when it comes to your music. Nobody trips that I did “Chicago” the musical, nobody tripped that I did “The Color Purple,” “Aida,” “Fela…” She continues to tell her captured audience, “Don’t let anybody box you in if you have a gift use it.”

2 Comments on Michelle Williams Keeping it Real on “The Real” Her Words of Inspiration

  1. Wow, marvelous weblog structure! How long have you been running a blog for?
    you make blogging glance easy. The full glance of your website
    is wonderful, let alone the content!

Comments

