The Start of My Book Collection for 2015

bookcollection

Some people have a list as long as 50 to 100 books that they want to read by the end of the year. I am not sure about all of that. If I happened to read 100 books this year, well kudos to me. I am sure that will mean I will have a lot to blog about and it may just inspire me to write my own book. However, there are  some books that are in my collection that I want to read this year. The list is not long, but each book is something that I am looking forward to losing myself in.

  1. What the Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast: A Short Guide to Making Over Your Mornings – and Life by Laura Vanderkam. I learned about this e-book in a book review at The Drea Daily. While writing my book collection list, I downloaded a copy for myself. An hour and half later I was finished reading it. It was what I expected to read on how to spend your mornings. Yet, I learned a few things, some that I have plans to put in action. I already wake up early to go to work. Now I just have to wake up 15 minutes earlier to start a ritual that will help me start my day.
  2. Little Black Book of Rules for Curly Girls by Tameeka McNeil-Johnson & Candace Kelley. Of course you know I have to read this one. I interviewed Tameeka McNiel-Johnson – The Curl Whisperer and have sat in her chair a couple of times. So I am looking forward to some valuable hair care solutions.
  3. #GirlBoss by Sophia Amoruso I started this book last year. For some reason I got distracted and did not finish it. It was a great read from what I read so far, so I must go back and finish it. I bought the digital copy but some books I think it’s better to have in the palm of my hand. I got to get a hard-copy. 
  4. Stephen King | On Writing by Stephen King. Another book that I started and did not finished, but I really enjoyed it while I was reading it. I just have to start it again. It inspired me to write.
  5. A Belle in Brooklyn by Demetria L. Lucas. I want to read it, because I read her recent book “Don’t Waste Your Pretty” and I enjoyed it, I did a review too.
  6. Turn it Loose by Britni Danielle I have my copy on Kindle and I am ready to read about a successful journalist that hates her life. I guess because I am curious how that can even be possible.
  7. Preseason Love by  Ahyiana Angel I remember meeting Ahyiana Angel through Britni Danielle “Goal Digger” Face Book page. Inspired by her story and her zeal, I made sure that I went to Manhattan to meet her for her first book signing in NYC. I am ready to sit down get cozy and let my imagination go wild with the author that’s published by one of my favorite authors ZANE.

This should be enough to get my reading journey started. Do you have a list of books that you want to read this year? Please share, I may add them to my collection.

8 Comments on The Start of My Book Collection for 2015

  1. I bought Britni Danielle’s book, “Turn It Loose.” I’m nearly half finished with it; I’m just such a slow reader these days. So far, it’s interesting. And yes, Laura Vanderkam’s e-book was a quick read. I got through that one in like an hour.

    Drea | thedreadaily.com

    • Oh, good to know about Britni’s book. Did you get her collection? You put me on about the e-book and I love you for it. The book had plenty nuggets to inspire me to add 15 more minutes to my already early morning. Some days I am doing the darn thing and other days I am like, “what?!!” It’s a process.

      • No, not the collection, just the first book. I’m glad the e-book helped; I was hesitant about recommending it because I know that lots of people already wake up at the crack of dawn if they have children and full-time jobs. Waking up even earlier would likely seem impossible for them.

      • Well, it was a great recommendation. For me, it was about getting out of my comfort zone.

  2. Turn it loose sounds interesting. I will definitely be on the look out for it. I am also on a reading challenge https://makupsy.wordpress.com/2015/01/19/reading-challenge-2015/
    Here’s to happy reading 🙂

  3. Hey Iris!

    Looks like you’re off to a great start! I just picked up a new batch of books from the library today. I’m finally reading Anne Lamott’s “Bird by Bird” along with “Sex Wars” by Marge Piercy (love her) to name a couple. I also plan on getting into some YA novels as well.

Comments

